The Sanskrit word chakra means wheel, literally translated it means “wheel of spinning energy”. And that is exactly what they do, they are energy centres that spin and are located all over the body. These whirling energy centres are the rechargeable batteries of our body.


There are 7 main chakras, each containing bundles of nerves and major organs as well as our emotional, psychological and spiritual states of being. As everything flows it’s important for our overall well-being that our chakras are free from blockages.


Blockages in our chakras can lead to feeling emotionally or mentally unbalanced, physical discomfort or even illness.

Seven main chakras - hOIListicallyforward

There are many reasons why our chakras can become blocked, for example stress, loss, conflict, accidents, surgery, natural disasters, attack, abuse, deep rooted disappointment, injuries, illness, etc.


A daily meditation practice, wearing crystals aligned to your chakras, yoga or Reiki are some of the methods to help you clear and re-align your chakras. One of the best methods to support balanced chakras is self-development. 


1. Chakra

Name:                       Muladhara, Base or Root Chakra

Colour:                      Red

Location:                   Base of spine, coccyx

Key characteristics:   Survival

                                 Safety, security

                                 Basic needs (i.e. food, sleep, shelter, sex for survival)

                                 Physical identity




This Chakra represents the foundation on which we build our life and supports all forms of growth and expansion. It shows how grounded we are, how we are connected and rooted within the earth and is linked to our ability to survive. It’s associated with the legs, feet, bones, adrenal glands and pelvic area.


Signs of blockages: fear of change, excessive negativity and worry, eating-disorders, greed, illusion, procrastination, overly cautious, extreme tiredness, constantly feeling cold, paranoia, overactive sexuality, aggressiveness, recklessness, too impulsive


Crystals:      Black Tourmaline - grounding, protects from external influences, relaxing

                   Pyrope Garnet - courage, endurance, fertility, strength

                   Red Jasper - alertness, courage, energy, willpower


2. Chakra

Name: Sacral or Spleen Chakra

Colour: Orange

Location: Between the genitals and the pubic bone

This Chakra controls our creativity, sexuality, procreation, emotions, desire and pleasure. It’s associated with our genitalia, the lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, circulatory system, reproductive system and the endocrine gland.

Signs of blockages: antisocial behaviour, unresponsive sexually and emotionally, compulsive or obsessive behaviour, sexual guilt, selfish, arrogant

Crystals: amber, carnelian, orange calcite


3. Chakra

Name: Solar plexus Chakra

Colour: Yellow

Location: Just above the navel in the centre of the abdomen (the solar plexus area)

This Chakra controls our willpower and our ability to achieve in life. Here we learn to say “No”. It’s associated with the digestive system (pancreas, stomach, liver, gall bladder), how we process food and also how we process experiences. This is where we have our “gut feelings”.

Signs of blockages: Anger, frustration, lack of direction, sense of victimisation, lethargy, feeling isolated, feeling overcautious, nervousness, mental bullying, unrest, digestion problems

Crystals: golden topaz, sunstone, tiger eye


4. Chakra

Name: Heart Chakra

Colour: Green

Location: Centre of the chest in the heart region

This Chakra is linked to our ability to say “Yes”, to give and receive love, feel compassion, reach out to others, feel peace and harmony. It is associated with the heart, lungs, upper respiratory system, thymus gland, immune system, arms and hands.

Signs of blockages: inhumanity, lack of compassion, low self-esteem, insecurity, jealousy, “poor me” syndrome, stinginess, overconfidence, “martyr” syndrome

Crystals: rose quartz, malachite, rhodochrosite


5. Chakra

Name: Throat Chakra

Colour: Blue

Location: Neck, throat, thyroid gland

This Chakra is associated with our ability to speak our truth and express our emotional self, right side of the brain, hearing and judgement. It is linked to our throat, vocal chords, oesophagus, mouth, teeth, thyroid, parathyroid glands, neck and shoulders.

Signs of Blockages: Dishonesty, creative blocks, lost voice, constant criticising, judgement, stubborn beliefs, hyperactive attitude, overreacting, surrendering to others

Crystals: blue lace agate, lapis lazuli, aquamarine


6. Chakra

Name: Third Eye or Brow Chakra

Colour: Purple

Location: the centre of the forehead, just above the eyes

This Chakra contains our inner vision, how we see the world and how we process all that we experience in the world. Here are our inner dreams, wisdom and perception. It holds our life purpose, the plan about what we came here to do. It is linked to the nervous system, lower brain, left eye, ears, nose, pituitary gland

Signs of Blockages: Lack of foresight, mental rigidity, selective memory, depression, self-doubt, forgetfulness, headaches, the inability to trust your instincts, oversensitivity

Crystals: purpurite, sugilite, chiastolite


7. Chakra

Name: Crown Chakra

Colour: Silver/White

Location: top of the head, slightly to the back

This Chakra is associated with our spiritual connection and allows us to process and channel our interaction with the divine. It is our direct connection to spirit, the more we meditate and spend time with spiritual studies, the more we accept who we are, the more it opens up. It is linked to the pineal gland, the upper brain, the right eye, memory, academic ability, emotional intelligence and our awareness of the spiritual realms

Signs of Blockages: self-denial, feeling of being disconnected, not connected with reality, psychological problems, feeling uninspired, feeling misunderstood

Crystals: clear quartz, apophyllite, optical calcite